Hello Ambassador: Joining Team Awesome for the 2020 Ottawa Marathon

Last week I finally got to announce some big news: I was selected as an Ambassador for the 2020 Ottawa Marathon! That’s right, yours truly is an official member of Team Awesome.

 

 

I used to think in the old cliché: if you had told me [x number of years] ago that I’d run 42.2km I would have [insert reaction that demonstrates disbelief].

I don’t think that way anymore. I know a lot of what I’m capable of and what I’ve already done. Now, I’m ready to do more.

Even so, I’ve got some nerves about it already. This time feels different.

I’m heading back for a second crack at the marathon distance as an Official Ambassador for a race while healing from my first running injury at a time when I’ve never been in more of a power struggle with body confidence issues that have plagued me for almost my entire life.

I’ve already started scheduling 2020 and cross training to stay strong while my injury heals. I’m seeing an anti-diet dietitian to try and get my body issues in order before I have to plunge back into intense running weeks.

December and January are for recovery and maintenance. Once February happens, the real work begins. Let’s goooo!